HAMS Wholeheartedly Endorses Moderation Management

 MM founder Audrey Kishline had a great idea–not everyone who sometimes drinks too much needs to go to AA. Problem drinkers who have had only occasional problems with alcohol and who are not drinking large amounts daily are more likely to benefit from a moderation program than a program of total abstinence. MM has proven very successful with people who fall into this category. It is unfortunate that Audrey herself did not.

 

I do not wish to harp on Audrey, those of you who know me know that I knew Audrey and was a member of MM during Audrey’s Minnesota days. Even back then I was working a harm reduction plan which involved getting schnockered once a week and abstaining the other six days. Audrey did not approve, as well she should not have, as it did not belong in MM. But since there were NO alcohol harm reduction programs in those days she did not throw me out.

 

Where could I have gone? AA has never made me abstain–it nearly made me drink myself to death.

 

This is why I founded HAMS. For the many who fit neither AA nor MM nor any other approach. Many of my friends from my MM days have done excellently with MM. I am very happy for them. MM limits would have never fit me–but I am infinitely better than I was before.

 

MM–we salute thee for the good work thou hast done.

 

For those who need another way–HAMS is one possible approach.

 

pct

 

About Kenneth Anderson

Kenneth Anderson is the author of the book How to Change Your Drinking: a Harm Reduction Guide to Alcohol. He is also the founder and CEO of The HAMS Harm Reduction Network.
This entry was posted in Alcohol and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

